Chef by Nature

The chef Jean Sulpice

His instinctive and essential cuisine reveals most authentic flavours. He relies on noble products such as lake fishes and aromatic herbs to create original and genuine savours.

  • Haute Savoie
  • Nature
  • Talloires

A man of seasonsLiving, breathing nature

At the age of 40, Jean Sulpice has finally found in the Auberge du Père Bise a venue in perfect harmony with his culinary identity. A profoundly natural setting bathed in a peaceful light from dusk till dawn. In the forefront, the translucent lake and its ever-changing colours that remind him of his childhood spent in Aix-les-Bains. With Florent Capretti, the inn’s designated fisherman, Jean explores the smallest nooks of the lake trying to better understand and respect this ecosystem. Because for mankind, nature only has meaning through the relationship we maintain with it. From the lake, the eye wanders up towards the summits above, the grey verticality of rocky cliffs. Both these natural dimensions – liquid and mineral – inspire Jean Sulpice’s pure and flavourful cuisine from one season to the next.

Facebook | Instagram

Born into a family of restaurateurs for three generations, Jean Sulpice combines his two passions with tremendous intensity: wide open spaces and gastronomy. His cuisine has always been a perfect blend of both. A keen athlete and a mountain enthusiast in all its forms, Jean Sulpice enjoys walking off beaten paths to get even closer to nature. For fifteen years at 2,300 metres above sea level, in the highest ski resort in Europe, Jean Sulpice took on the challenge of offering gastronomic cuisine in on high mountains. He was rewarded with a first Michelin star in 2006, and a second in 2010, at the age of 32.

In 2017, Jean Sulpice moved back to the Lake Annecy of his early years as a cook next to Marc Veyrat, for whom he was second de cuisine for five years. It’s at that time that he met Magali, sommelier at the time, who became his wife and the mother of their two children. They both decided to move back to the shores of Lake Annecy to write a new chapter in the beautiful history of the Auberge du Père Bise. And a successful one at that. As soon as the widely renovated hotel reopened, it was awarded five stars and Jean Sulpice was named Chef of the Year 2018 by Gault & Millau. In February 2018, the gastronomic restaurant received 2 Michelin stars.

Back to top Back to top

Cuisinier par nature

Le chef Jean Sulpice

Une cuisine instinctive et essentielle, qui révèle des saveurs authentiques. Celles de produits nobles, des poissons de lac, des herbes aromatiques, pour offrir des saveurs originales et vraies.

  • Haute Savoie
  • Nature
  • Talloires

Un homme et des saisonsNature vivante

A 40 ans, Jean Sulpice a enfin trouvé à l’Auberge du Père Bise un cadre en parfaite harmonie avec son identité culinaire. Dans ce lieu qu’inonde, dès l’aube, une lumière paisible, la nature est omniprésente. Au premier plan, le lac, translucide et aux couleurs si changeantes, qui lui rappelle son enfance passée à Aix les Bains. Avec Florent Capretti, le pêcheur attitré de l’auberge, Jean en explore les moindres recoins, et cherche à mieux comprendre cet écosystème qu’il faut apprivoiser. Car la nature ne prend un sens, pour l'homme, qu'à travers la relation qu'il noue avec elle. Du lac, le regard se redresse vers les sommets qui le dominent, dans une gradation imposante : alpages verdoyants, forêts sombres de sapins, verticalité grise des parois rocheuses. Ces deux dimensions naturelles, liquide et minérale, inspirent, au rythme des saisons, la cuisine de Jean Sulpice.

Facebook | Instagram

Issu d’une famille de restaurateurs depuis trois générations, Jean Sulpice vit intensément ses deux passions simultanées : les grands espaces et la gastronomie. Sa cuisine en a toujours fait la synthèse. Grand sportif et amoureux de la montagne sur tous les modes, Jean Sulpice se plaît à sortir des sentiers battus, au plus près de la nature. Pendant quinze ans, ce sera à 2300 mètres d’altitude, dans la plus haute station d’Europe, que Jean Sulpice réussira le pari de proposer une cuisine gastronomique en haute montagne. Il est récompensé d’une première étoile au guide Michelin en 2006 et d’une seconde à 32 ans, en 2010.

En 2017, Jean Sulpice retrouve le lac d’Annecy de ses premières années de cuisinier aux côtés de Marc Veyrat dont il fut le second pendant cinq ans. C’est à cette époque qu’il a aussi rencontré Magali, alors sommelière, qui deviendra son épouse et la mère de leurs deux enfants. Tous les deux ont décidé de revenir au bord du lac d’Annecy pour écrire un nouveau chapitre de la très belle histoire de l’auberge du Père Bise. Le succès est au rendez-vous. Dès la ré-ouverture, l’hôtel, largement rénové, est classé en cinq étoiles et Jean Sulpice est consacré Chef de l’année 2018 par le Gault et Millau. En février 2018, le restaurant gastronomique obtient 2 étoiles au guide Michelin.

Retour en haut Retour en haut